SCSI Library

SCSI Trade Association Announces 2013 Board of Directors

12Gb/s SAS » Press Releases » STA Releases » SCSI Express

12Gb/s SAS products expected in production volumes in 2013 along with advancement of SCSI Express technology

SAN FRANCISCO – February 5, 2013 — The SCSI Trade Association (STA) (, a member-run industry association established to support and promote SCSI technology, today announced its newly elected Board of Directors for 2013. After appointments to the board were made in July 2012 due to job changes and a retirement, the entire board roster was reelected.

Returning officers include STA President Martin Czekalski of Seagate Technology and Greg McSorley of Amphenol, who serves as Vice President. Mike James of SanDisk returns to the board as Secretary and Susan Bobholz of Intel remains Treasurer.

“STA’s success has been due in no small part to the quality and leadership provided by our Board of Directors,” said Marty Czekalski, Interface Architecture Initiatives Manager, Seagate Technology and President, STA. “I offer my gratitude to all returning members who have served us well through a busy year as well as a transitional period.”

Czekalski reported that in 2012, SAS continued to further its entrenchment in to Enterprise storage and there was significant market movement toward broad based 12Gb/s SAS adoption. STA also celebrated a vigorous turnout for its Technology Showcase held in May with the theme of “Taming the Data Beast,” and continues to move forward with SCSI Express, a PCIe storage initiative, he said.

“In 2013, STA member companies are actively working with the INCITS T10 Technical Committee to release the SOP and PQI standards so that SCSI Express products can be delivered to market,” added Czekalski. “STA will also be hosting three Plugfests in 2013, two devoted to SAS 12Gb/s SAS and one devoted to SCSI Express. Additionally, we expect the release of 12Gb/s SAS products in production volumes later this year.”

2013 Officers of the STA Board of Directors:

  • President; Martin Czekalski, Interface Architecture Initiatives Manager, Seagate Technology
  • Vice President; Greg McSorley, Technical Business Development Manager, Amphenol Corporation
  • Treasurer; Susan Bobholz, Storage Business Development Director, Intel
  • Secretary; Mike James, Director, Engineering, Enterprise Storage Solutions, SanDisk Corporation

STA Board Members-at-Large:

  • David Allen, Director, Storage Business Development, PMC
  • Don Jeanette, Director, Product Marketing, Toshiba
  • Rick Kutcipal, External Storage Market Segment Lead, LSI Corporation
  • Jay Neer, Industry Standards Manager, Molex
  • Dan Reno, Director, Technical Marketing Enterprise, Western Digital

Current STA Membership Roster:

ACARD Technology
ATTO Technology
BizLink Technology
Cheng Fwa Industrial
Foxconn Electronics
Marvell Semiconductor
Seagate Technology
Smart Storage Systems
TE Connectivity
Toshiba America
UNH (Honorary)
Western Digital

About STA
The SCSI Trade Association (STA) was established in 1996 to provide a focal point for members to communicate the benefits of SCSI to the industry. STA promotes the understanding and use of Serial Attached SCSI (SAS) technology and influences the evolution of SCSI standards to meet future industry needs. The Association has a nine-member Board of Directors, which oversees the Marketing Communications and Technology Committees and all STA activities. To subscribe to Serial Storage Wire, STA’s free Serial Attached SCSI newsletter, please visit: For more information, please visit the STA web site at, send an email to or call the STA office at (415) 561-6273.

Media Contact:
Linda Capcara
Global Connect Communications