SCSI Library

SCSI Trade Association Announces 2009 Board of Directors

Press Releases » STA Releases

San Francisco, February 17, 2009 – The SCSI Trade Association (STA), a member-run industry association established to support and promote SCSI technology, announced their newly elected Board of Directors for 2009. All 2008 Board members were reinstated (see roster below). Re-elected to the position as president was Harry Mason of LSI Corp., who will serve as STA president for the eighth consecutive year. Also re-elected as vice president was Martin Czekalski of Seagate Technology, who will serve in that position for a seventh term.

STA announced the next generation 6Gb/s SAS (Serial Attached SCSI) technology to the industry at the end of third quarter, 2008, a major achievement made possible by three years of effort on the part of the T10 Committee and STA. In fourth quarter, 2008, the first plugfest which was fully devoted to 6Gb/s SAS testing, was held in preparation for the anticipated market entry of new 6Gb/s SAS products expected in mid-year 2009. STA will maintain the momentum achieved in 2008, by continuing to hold events, including plugfests, in 2009. A 6Gb/s SAS Webinar is being planned for later this year.

“2009 will be a watershed year for Serial Attached SCSI as volume OEM shipments continue to increase and new 6Gb/s SAS products are readied for industry introductions,” said Harry Mason, president of STA. “2009 thrusts are continued education, advanced connectivity schemes, and SAS roadmap planning. We will continue to educate and inform OEMs, integrators and end-users through the STA newsletter, Serial Storage Wire, as well as drive worldwide industry awareness of SAS as the leading storage interconnect.”

2009 Officers of the STA Board of Directors

  • President; Harry Mason, Director of Industry Marketing, LSI Corporation
  • Vice President; Martin Czekalski, Interface Architecture Initiatives Manager, Seagate Technology
  • Secretary; Cameron Brett, Manager of Product Marketing, PMC-Sierra, Inc.
  • Treasurer; Susan Bobholz, Ecosystem Enablement Manager, Storage Group, Intel

STA Board Members-at-Large:

  • Chris Hoffman, Senior Product Marketing Manager, Emulex Corporation
  • Don Jeanette, Senior Manager, Product Marketing, Fujitsu CPA, Inc.
  • Tonya Comer, Product Marketing Mgr., Industry Standard Servers, HP
  • David Allen, Director of Marketing, Storage Products, Maxim
  • Paul Vogt, Senior Director of Product Management, Xyratex

Current STA Membership Roster

ACARD Technology Hitachi GST PMC-Sierra
AIC IBM Promise Technology
3Ware Infortrend Quellan
Adaptec Hewlett-Packard Samsung
Amphenol LeCroy Seagate Technology
BizLink Technology LSI Tyco Madison Cable
Dell Marvell Semiconductor UNH (Honorary)
Emulex Maxim Western Digital
Finisar Molex Xyratex
Fujitsu CPA    

About STA
The SCSI Trade Association was established in 1996 to provide a focal point for members to communicate the benefits of SCSI to the industry. STA promotes the understanding and use of Serial Attached SCSI (SAS) technology and influences the evolution of SCSI standards to meet future industry needs. The Association has a nine-member Board of Directors, which oversees the Marketing Communications and Technology Committees and all STA activities. To subscribe to Serial Storage Wire, STA’s free Serial Attached SCSI newsletter, please visit: For more information, please visit the STA web site at, send an email to or call the STA office at (415) 561-6273.

All trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

For further information, contact:

Lea Schwartz
SCSI Trade Association